Florida “No Fault” Personal Injury Protection Insurance(PIP)

PIP Insurance is also referred to as Florida No Fault Insurance. Florida is one of ten states that require drivers to purchase this insurance. Drivers of motor vehicles are required to purchase a minimum of $10,000 in PIP insurance. You have 14 days after sustaining an injury from a motor vehicle to file a medical claim.

About Florida No Fault Insurance – The purpose of PIP insurance is to reduce the amount of litigation in the court system by lowering the amount of personal injury claims. Requiring drivers to carry a minimum of $10,000 in PIP Insurance covers the drivers medical bills and lost wages up to $10,000 no matter who is at fault.

For example, if you are stopped at a red light another driver rear ends you, causing you $8,000 in medical bills and $2,000 in lost wages. Since Florida is a “No Fault” State, your insurance will pay the medical bills and lost wages and their insurance will pay nothing. Anything over $10,000 in damages and you have the right to sue for the remainder, including any pain and emotional pain you have suffered because of someone else’s negligence.

What else does PIP cover?

  • Covers your children, family members, and passengers who lack PIP Insurance.
  • People who have PIP insurance will be covered when they are passengers in another vehicle.
  • Covers children receiving injuries while riding the school bus.
  • Protects you and family members while walking or riding a bike, skateboard, etc. and involved in a motor vehicle accident. (Read more HERE on Pedestrian Accidents)
  • Death benefit – If policy holder or passenger in vehicle is killed, an additional $5,000 is awarded.

Florida PIP Facts:

  • In Florida only 80% of your medical bills are covered by PIP “No Fault” insurance.
  • Health Insurance may cover the rest of the medical bills depending on the policy.
  • PIP will pay 60% of lost wages up to $10,000.
  • PIP will pay your fuel and travel expenses incurred while receiving medical treatment.
  • If your accident is not determined by a medical doctor to be an Emergency Medical Condition or “EMC”, you will only be entitled to $2,500 NOT $10,000.

Can I sue for more damages? If your medical bills or pain and emotional suffering costs (subject to interpretation) exceed the $10,000 or $2,500 allowed under Florida PIP law, you have a right to sue. Consult an experienced Florida Car Accident Attorney.

To schedule a free, no-obligation consultation with Car Accident Attorney Mark Bidner or another Bidner Injury Law firm attorney, call 786-765-4120 or fill out and submit our online Contact Us form.

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Google photo

You are commenting using your Google account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s